Mims' Musings

African Adventure 2011: Third Installment

Posted on: 04/09/2011


So, on we trekked down to Ballito, where my Uncle has a holiday house. We had a day up in Durban where we walked from one end of it to the other, (which turns out to be quite a long distance!). This is me in front of the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban, which was built for the World Cup.

We were lucky enough to go in the SkyCar up the arch of the stadium, which gave us a great view of Durban. We were impressed with how beautiful the beachfront area is, but also surprised how quiet it was. This is why we ended up walking so far, in the search for a ‘town centre’.

We stopped at the International Convention Centre in Durban for a convenient toilet break, and I was delighted to find something called the Durban Peace Quilt on the walls. There were several quilts made up of panels, all in different shades of blue and with some lovely peaceful images. It really made me want to bump quilting up the list of crafts I want to learn!

U

Unlike underpasses in London, where they tend to be half brothel/half toilet, the one in Durban is decorated with lovely tile displays of native flowers, the best named one being the ‘num-num flower’. I have to say, whichever creative soul thought of altering this flower should be commended, it definitely put a smile on my face!

After nearly a week in Ballito/Durban/seeing family near there, we moved on to Port Elizabeth where we saw more lovelly family, then began driving along the Garden Route to Cape Town. I’ve decided to include this picture because what happened next was our stop in Wilderness, at the Wilderness Beach Hotel. The rooms were nice enough. But what I may as well have been spotting in those binoculars, was in fact a TERRIBLE MEAL. At the hotel restaurant we waited an hour for our food, which then varied between Lukewarm to Freezing cold.  During the wait I’d lost the will to eat, then when my meal came the pork filling was cold, but I struggled on, took a few bites and realised the meat was rare. Then realised you can’t eat pork rare. I wasn’t very well that night.

We then had another stop before reaching Cape Town, in a place called Swellendam, where we had a great meal at Powell’s Coffee House, completely making up for the previous night’s disaster. Next door to the restaurant was a wedding shop where they were sewing dresses, if we weren’t in such a rush I would’ve spent hours in there!. We then arrived at my Uncle’s house where we’re now staying with my Uncle, Aunt and two cousins until we head home. This picture was taken today at Hermanus, where we had a great lunch and even spotted a few whales.

Although I would be lying if I didn’t admit I felt a little twinge when I saw this reminder of how far away from home we are!

So onward to the last part of our jouney we go. On the agenda are Robin Island, Table Mountain and I’m sure some adventures with my cousin who we’ve been playing poker with (note the lucky hoods!). Stay tuned for the next installment…

1 Response to "African Adventure 2011: Third Installment"

[…] African Adventure 2011: Third Installment « Mims’ Musings After nearly a week in Ballito/Durban/seeing family near there, we moved on to Port Elizabeth where we saw more lovelly family, then began driving along the Garden Route to Cape Town. I’ve decided to include this picture because what … https://mimsmusings.wordpress.com/ — Sun, 04 Sep 2011 14:18:47 -0700 […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 409 other followers

Categories

